Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Home of the 205th Desert Warriors

HomePortalLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Police Report

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage

Police Report Empty
PostSubject: Police Report   Police Report EmptyWed Feb 18, 2009 6:31 am

I am writing in response for additional information. In block number 3 of the accident report form, I put "poor planning" as the cause of my accident. You said in your letter that I should explain more and I trust that the following details are sufficient:

I am a bricklayer by trade. On the day of the accident, I was working alone on the roof of a new 6-storey building. When I completed my work, I discovered that I had about 500 pounds of bricks left over. Rather than carrying them down by hand, I decided to lower them in a barrel using a pulley which fortunately was attached to the side of the building on the sixth floor.

Securing the rope at ground level, I went up to the roof, swung the barrel out and loaded the bricks into it. Then i went back down to the ground floor and untied the rope, holding it tightly to ensure a slow decent of 500 pounds of bricks. You will note that in block number 11 of the accident reporting form that I weigh 135 pounds. Due to the surprise of being jercked off the ground so suddenly, I lost my presence of mind and forgot to let go of the rope. I proceeded at a rather rapid rate up the side of the building.

In the vicinity of the third floor, I met the barrel coming down. That explains the fractured skull and broken collarbone. Slowed only slightly, I continued my rapid ascent, not stopping until the fingers of my right hand were two knuckles deep into the pulley. Fortunately by this time, I regained my presence of mind and was able to hold on to the rope tightly in spite of my pain.